Superiors General of the Society of Jesus

(According to The Historical Catechism, chiefly relating to the English Province of the Society, Edited by George Oliver, St. Nicholas Priory, Exeter, 1838 amplified by current research)



Ignatius Loyola, ("Jew") 1 April 1541 - 31 July 1556 (65 yrs at death)

Diego Laynez, ("Jew") 2 July 1558 - 10 Jan 1565 (53)

Francis Borgia, 2 July 1565 - 1 October 1572 (62)

Everard Mercurian, 23 April 1573 - 1 August 1580 (?)

Claudius Aquaviva, 19 Feb 1581 - 31 Jan 1615 (72)

Mutius Vitelleschi, 15 Nov 1615 - 9 Feb 1645 (82)

Vincent Caraffa, 7 Jan 1646 - 8 June 1649 (65)

Francis Piccolimini, 21 Dec 1649 - 17 June 1651 (69)

Alexander Gottifred, 21 January 1652 - 13 March 1652 (58)

Goswin Nickel, 17 March 1652 - 31 July 1664 (82)

John Paul Oliva, who had been elected Vicarius Generalis perpetuus cum jure succedendi 7 Junii 1661 was immediately invested with the government of the Society at Nickel's death. He died 96 November 1681 (81)

Charles de Noyelle, 5 July 1682 - 12 Dec 1686

Thyrsus Gonzales, 6 July 1687 - 19 Nov 1705 (78)

Michaelangelo Tamburini, 31 Jan 1706 - 28 February 1730

Francis Retz, 30 Nov 1730 - 19 Nov 1750 (78)

Ignatius Viconti, 4 July 1751 - 4 May 1755

Luigi Aloysius Centurioni, 30 November 1755 - 2 October 1757

Lorenzo Ricci, 21 May, 1758 - 24 Nov 1775 (72)

The brief of Clement XIV for suppressing the Society, dated 21 July 1773 was put in execution 16 August.

Stanislaus Czerniewicz, permitted by Catherine the Great to reign for life as "Superior General for Russia" 17 Oct 1782 - 21 Oct, 1785 (57)

Gabriel Lenkiewisz, 8 October, 1785 - 21 October 1798 (77)

Francis Karew, 12 Feb 1799 - 4 Aug 1802 (71)

Gabriel Gruber, 22 Oct 1802 - 6 April 1805 (67)

Thaddeus Brzozowski, elected in 1805, would serve as head of the whole Society when it was restored 7

August 1814 by the Bull of Pope Plus VII Solicitudo omnium Ecclesiarum, but would never remove to Rome because the Russian Government refused him permission to leave, died 5 Feb 1820.

Aloysius Fortis, 18 Oct 1820 - 29 Jan 1829 (81)

John Roothaan 1829-1853

Pieter Jean Beckx, 1853-1887

Ludovico Martin, 1892-1901

Franz Xavier Wernz, 1907-1914

Vladimir Ledochowski, 1915-1942

Jean-Baptiste Janssens, 1946-1964

Pedro Arrupe, 1965-1981 (removed by Pope John Paul II)

Paolo Dezza, Giuseppe Pittau, 1981-1983 (appointed by John Paul II)

Peter Hans Kolvenbach, 1983-2008

Adolfo Nicolás Pachón, 2008-